top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenn Peake

Friends that were pregnant together.....

I'm going to tell a bit of a story about one of my best friends and all the emotions 2019 brought and how her daughter has helped me heal.


Anyone that follows me on social media knows one of my best friends is Martina. I've known her for so many years and in 2009 we started hanging around together and developed a great friendship, she is just like a sister to me!


I've been very open about our infertility struggles, we started ttc right away and finally in 2018 we got in with Dr. Ripley to start finding out what was wrong. That story can be found in another blog earlier on.


We would always make dates to hang out either at the mall or Starbucks. In 2019 Martina texted me to set up a time to hang out at the mall. We were sitting in the food court and she looked very nervous. As she started to tell me her news, she was tearing up. She knew how much we wanted a baby and that's why she was scared to tell me she was pregnant. My reaction was absolute EXCITEMENT. I was so happy for her and Patrick. I bought the baby a blanket that day! I was so happy my best friend was having a baby.


Fast forward a couple months and I find out that I am expecting! How exciting is it to be pregnant the same time as your best friend. I couldn't believe it, our babies would be roughly 3 months apart!! Unfortunately, we lost our baby at 9 weeks. I was devastated but that never changed how happy I was for Martina.


We got to capture their maternity photos that are still my absolute favourite. I felt a bit distant with her for a little bit after the loss, all fault of my own because I was grieving. In March Camilla entered this crazy Covid world. I was so excited she was finally here but unfortunately due to Covid, we couldn't meet her or do her newborn photos until she was almost 3 months old!!




Both James and I have no siblings but Martina & Patrick consider us "Uncle James & Auntie Jenn" to their beautiful daughter. Now, I will try to describe as much as possible for you to understand this next part.


Camilla has helped me heal. While Martina was off on maternity leave, they would come visit pretty much weekly and spend a good part of the day with me. Getting to spend that time with her and making those memories are something that I am forever grateful for.


**Trigger Warning**

I think about my baby all the time but not in the dark place I use to be in. I would replay the events the day I had my miscarriage over and over again. I wouldn't delete the photo I took of my baby on the phone, I would look at the photo everyday and just cry. I ripped up the letter I wrote our baby in my pregnancy journal along with belly photos. It was not healthy. Our baby was due roughly June 23rd, 2020. It wasn't until Martina and Camilla started visiting weekly that I finally crawled out of that really dark place. Camilla makes my heart so happy.


I had so much support from family & friends during that time in my life and I am forever grateful. I couldn't have gone through all of this without them and they know exactly who they are. I have a friend that I will share about in another blog this week that has helped me navigate this infertility journey because she went through the exact same thing.




Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page