top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenn Peake

Step two.....starting Medications

Updated: Aug 13, 2021

Moving on to the next phase of our journey. Dr Ripley put me on Metformin, which is diabetic medication but also helps women with PCOS have a regular cycle and ovulate. Not everyone can handle the side effects of Metformin and unfortunately I was one of them. I couldn't get passed taking 2 pills a day and that was making me so sick I couldn't do anything. I was suppose to take 2 in the morning and 2 at night.


During some bloodwork, we discovered my A1C level was up a little bit. I had to see a doctor that I'll leave unnamed because I did not have a good experience with him at all. He wanted to put me on insulin without having me monitor my sugar levels at all first. They checked my sugar that day in the office and it was high, I had eaten a banana not long before and have discovered that I can't eat bananas. They put my sugar level up very high.


I got my A1C lowered on my own, with low carb, low sugar and exercise. Dr Ripley then decided since my A1C was 7 where he wanted it that he would prescribe me Letrozole.


Letrozole induces ovulation. He started me on the lowest dose of 2.5mg. I would take Provera for 10 days to induce cycle then Letozole for 5 days during certain days of the cycle. Unfortunately, the first round didn't work, I didn't ovulate. The second round was 5mg and was unsuccessful as well.


In between the second cycle and the last cycle at 7.5mg I had A1C issues again which delayed the cycles. The waiting for months in between are the worse. We have been on this journey for almost 4 years now and have been in Dr Ripley's care for 3 years.


Keep tuning in to my blogs as I continue with our story and where we are now. Next up is what happened with the 3rd round of Letrozole.


48 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page