top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJenn Peake

The waves after the storm

It was a day or two after the miscarriage that Dr. Ripley had called me with my ultrasound results etc. He wanted me to take some time to heal physically and emotionally before we started treatment again. He planned to see me in the new year (2020).


Well, March 2020 Covid-19 hit and that threw a wrench into our fertility appointments and plans. I had a phone appointment in April with Dr. Ripley to discuss what is next for us. When I was pregnant my A1C levels went up to 9.5 and I needed to get that down and under control before starting Letrozole again. I had issues with my A1C before as I have PCOS with insulin resistance.


Having PCOS with insulin resistance does not mean you are diabetic. However it does make you more likely to develop it. Most doctors will try you on Metformin first, I have tried it twice and my body does not respond well to it. I was very sick and couldn't take the recommended dose.


With the grief and depression that came with losing my baby, I didn't take care of myself as well as I should have. I would have days that all I did was cry and eat junk because that was comfort. It was really hard being at home every week day alone and thinking about what would have been and replaying every second of my miscarriage.


It took a lot of strength and encouragement from other ladies that have or are going through the same thing as I am. I'm so thankful that so many people are more open to talking about this now. It has helped me so much and that is why I am an open book.


Unfortunately I am still fighting my insulin resistance butt to get my number as low as Dr. Ripley wants it, but I am working hard and in the right head space now to do it. It's an uphill battle but I know I can do it. We have a game plan in place with him, and this fall/winter we will be on our medication again.....waiting on our BFP (big fat positive) for our rainbow baby.


Next blog, I'm going to talk about the "advice" I get all the time about trying to a baby... What not to say to someone battling Infertility.

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page